There was this guy who has tears in his eyes, he hugged me, smiled and then cried. I don’t know what’s going on but I was there standing beside him. I was there willing to listen to him. I was there willing to spend time just to lessen his pain. I was there trying to calm him down. Then I saw myself broken as he was. I saw myself in him. I noticed myself crying too. I also felt his burden. I prayed to God, “Lord, heal him”. This happened last 2014.

We are all familiar with this situation and sometimes we experienced it personally , either we were the listener or we were the friend who needed someone to listen. In this world, we are all broken. Nothing works perfectly, because we are all sinners. Sin brought us death, sin brought us damage. We were born sinners. from the beginning to the end we are living in a broken planet, whereas natural disasters and deformities are usual and common. No one’s perfect.

When Adam and Eve sinned, the Bible tells us Romans 8:20 “For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope”.


“The creation was condemned to lose its purpose…” (GNT version) . We are all pointless and useless. There is confusion all around us because of sin and disobedience but God didn’t intend that to happen. He doesn’t want us to lose our purpose. He doesn’t want us to be confused. Yet we experience defects, deformities, breakdowns, sufferings and pains. But there is hope. God will not leave us in this broken world forever.

When you are in sadness, troubles, problems, sorrows, sufferings, difficulties, dead ends, pains, condemnations and discouragements, keep this in mind: God is preparing a better place for us where we can be with Him and live with Him forever. A place where there will be no more sorrow or tears.

 

Jeremiah 29:11 

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

John 16:33

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

